Johnny Barker Announces Psychedelic Folk Rock Album Sleepwalking

Johnny Barker Announces Psychedelic Folk Rock Album Sleepwalking

Prodigiously talented Aucklander Johnny Barker has bought all the experience in his creative arsenal to the psychedelic folk rock album Sleepwalking, his debut full length release as solo artist BARKER. Sleepwalking will be released digitally on Friday 26 May.

The musician, actor, screenwriter and director intentionally bought his musical and storytelling skills together when writing Sleepwalking.

“I decided early on to write songs as if they were short film scripts,” Barker says. “Choose a character, an obstacle or a genre and let the songs take shape with the use of imagination instead of analyzation. The result is a dark, neo noir sci-fi feel.”

The eight-track album has been four years in the making, self-recorded in France, Avondale and Pt Chevalier and mixed by Simon Gooding (The Map Room). Other than drums, additional bass, and vocals on ‘Spinning Numbers’, all instruments and vocals for the album are performed by BARKER.

Sleepwalking is a significant personal achievement. It has a sound, style and tone that I have been chasing for years and I am extremely excited to share this new body of work with the people who have supported my creative endeavours over the years.”

BARKER released ‘Haunted House’ as the first single from the album in 2015. Download the MP3 or WAV file or watch the video below. BARKER will release second single ‘Censored Video to coincide with the album release on 26 May.

Johnny Barker biography

It’d be pretty difficult to not have come across Johnny Barker’s work if you’ve lived in New Zealand in the past decade. He’s been on TV screens inCover Band, Go Girls and as the terrifying and iconicShortland Street character, Joey Henderson aka The Ferndale Strangler.

Barker released music with bands Jester, Nephew and The Aristocrats and as a solo artist under the moniker Sleepy Kid. He’s an award winning short film writer and director and has been a director for comedy series Jono and Ben for the past three seasons – amongst other creative endeavours.

Now comes Sleepwalking, the first album under his own name, BARKER. It was started when the musician licensed a song for a commercial and bought himself Pro Tools. Home recording sessions, a new storytelling-based writing process, a stint in the French town of Castelnau-de-Guers, and the help of a handful of friends back home complete the album. It’s a labour of love four years in the making, and the result is stunning.

Album Credits

1. Ceasefire
2. Haunted House
3. Spinning Numbers
4. Censored Video
5. Dreamin’ With The Fishes
6. Roll Credits
7. Echo. Time. Delay
8. Plans

Drums (except ‘Spinning Numbers’) performed and recorded by Cole Goodley (The Aristocrats)

Additional bass parts performed by Jared Kahi (Ghosts of M.O.T.A.T)

Backing vocals on ‘Spinning Numbers’ were performed by Simon Gooding and Brendon Morrow (The Map Room)

Drums on ‘Spinning Numbers’ were performed by Wesley Dowdell (Jester)

The rest of the instrumentation was written and performed by BARKER

Mixed by Simon Gooding

IK Multimedia's T-RackS 5

Related posts

Blindspott & Devilskin – Live @ The Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland 2018

Blindspott & Devilskin - Live @ The Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland 2018

Music photographer Brad Holland went along to cover Blindspott and Devilskin at the Logan Campbell Centre in Auckland, check out some of his awesome shots




Slayer’s Final World Tour is coming to New Zealand!

Slayer’s Final World Tour is coming to New Zealand!

The long-reigning titans of thrash, Slayer, are stopping over in New Zealand for one final hurrah and they’re bringing metal kings Anthrax along for the ride. Slayer left fans devastated earlier this year with news that they were calling it a day. But as a parting shot, they also...